© 2023 Connecticut Public

FCC Public Inspection Files:
WPKT · WRLI-FM · WEDW-FM · Public Files Contact
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Massachusetts election results: Healey leads Dems to sweep of statewide offices

Just after polls in Massachusetts closed at 8 p.m., the Associated Press called the governor's race for Democrat Maura Healey, leading a sweep of statewide offices. More below on that contest along with results on other races to watch.

Voters in the state have weighed in on four statewide ballot questions. They've also voted for members of Congress, the state Legislature, and statewide offices.

indicates the Associated Press has projected a winner.


There are four statewide questions on Massachusetts ballots this election, covering taxes, dental insurance, liquor licenses for chain retailers, and driver's licenses for residents without legal immigration status.






The state’s corner office is up for grabs in 2022, as incumbent Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker and Lt. Gov. Karyn Polito decided to call it quits after two terms. The pair did not pick sides in the race to succeed them.

After cruising to the Democratic nomination, Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey was paired on the ballot with Salem Mayor Kim Driscoll, who prevailed in a hotly contested three-way primary for lieutenant governor.

On the Republican side, state Rep. Geoff Diehl won the nomination with support from former President Trump. Leah Allen, also a former state representative, won a tight primary for lieutenant governor.

The Libertarian Party also nominated candidates, with business owner Kevin Reed vying for governor and physician Peter Everett for lieutenant governor.



The seat for Massachusetts attorney general is an open contest, with incumbent Maura Healey running for governor. After winning the Democratic primary, Boston City Councilor Andrea Campbell faces Republican trial attorney Jay McMahon in November.

Attorney General95.0% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Andrea Campbell (D)1,454,88262.4%
Jay McMahon (R)877,209 v37.6%


Secretary of State William Galvin, seeking an eighth term, was the only incumbent statewide officeholder to face a primary challenge. Coming off a 40-percentage-point victory, Galvin faces Republican Rayla Campbell and Green-Rainbow candidate Juan Sanchez in the general election.

Secretary of State95.0% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
William Galvin (D)1,580,39667.6%
Rayla Campbell (R)689,56229.5%
Juan Sanchez (GR)66,6402.9%


Incumbent Suzanne Bump is not seeking a fourth term. Massachusetts state Sen. Diana DiZoglio emerged from the Democratic primary to face Republican Anthony Amore, a museum security expert and former federal agent. Other candidates on the ballot include: Green-Rainbow Party nominee Gloria Caballero-Roca, a professor; union boilermaker Dominic Giannone from the Workers Party; and Libertarian Daniel Riek.

Auditor95.0% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Diana DiZoglio (D)1,239,70355.0%
Anthony Amore (R)856,44238.0%
Gloria Caballero-Roca (GR)64,1222.8%
Dominic Giannone (W)48,5832.1%
Daniel Riek (L)46,2922.0%


Massachusetts Treasurer Deb Goldberg is seeking a third term. The Democrat has no Republican challenger, but does face Libertarian Party candidate Cristina Crawford on the November ballot.

Treasurer95.0% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Deb Goldberg (D)1,617,72076.7%
Cristina Crawford (L)492,12123.3%


Voters are picking a candidate to succeed the retiring western Massachusetts representative on the Governor's Council, Mary Hurley, a former Springfield mayor and judge.

Democratic North Adams School Committee member Tara Jacobs faces Republican John Comerford in November.

Governor's Council86.5% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
John Comerford (R)92,07137.9%
Tara Jacobs (D)150,81162.1%


Both incumbents members representing parts of western Massachusetts in the U.S. House face challengers this November.




There are several contested races in western Massachusetts for state House and state Senate seats.

Berkshire, Hampden, Franklin & Hampshire Senate District89.5% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Paul Mark (D)44,18476.2%
Brendan Phair (U)13,38023.8%

Hampden & Hampshire Senate76.2% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Cecilia Calabrese (R)13,82431.1%
John Velis (D)30,63868.9%

Hampden, Hampshire & Worcester Senate88.0% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
William Johnson (R)26,24544.6%
Jake Oliveira (D)32,63555.4%

Third Berkshire House88.8% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Michael Lavery (GR)1,5959.5%
William "Smitty" Pignatelli (D)15,16890.5%

Second Franklin House75.6% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Jeffrey Raymond (R)3,93633.9%
Kevin McKeown (U)5094.4%
Susannah Whipps (U)7,16261.7%

Third Hampden House47.9% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Nick Boldyga (R)5,42563.5%
Anthony Russo (D)3,12336.5%

Seventh Hampden House95.0% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Aaron Saunders (D)9,48852.7%
James "Chip" Harrington (R)8,52647.3%

Eighth Hampden House95.0% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Shirley Arriaga (D)8,11264.8%
Sean Goonan (U)4,41235.2%


Hampshire County Sheriff Patrick Cahillane won the three-way Democratic primary, but with less than 50% of the vote. That led one of his challengers, Yvonne Gittelson, to launch a write-in campaign for the general election.

Hampshire Sheriff0.0% of estimated votes counted
CandidateVotes% of votes
Patrick Cahillane

This story contains reporting from the Associated Press.

Updated: November 9, 2022 at 2:10 PM EST
This report has been updated with the latest election results.
New England Public Media's newsroom is located at 44 Hampden Street, Springfield, MA 01103-1413. Send news tips or press releases via email, or call the newsroom directly at 413-735-6622. Keep up with New England Public Media on Facebook or Twitter.

Stand up for civility

This news story is funded in large part by Connecticut Public’s Members — listeners, viewers, and readers like you who value fact-based journalism and trustworthy information.

We hope their support inspires you to donate so that we can continue telling stories that inform, educate, and inspire you and your neighbors. As a community-supported public media service, Connecticut Public has relied on donor support for more than 50 years.

Your donation today will allow us to continue this work on your behalf. Give today at any amount and join the 50,000 members who are building a better—and more civil—Connecticut to live, work, and play.

Related Content