On Minimum Wage, A More-Than-$5 Divide In New England
The minimum wage goes up in half of New England on January 1, with a widening gap between the states.
Massachusetts continues to lead the way, with its minimum wage increasing to $12.75.
Maine is not far behind, with a boost to $12 an hour.
In Vermont, where increases are tied to inflation, the minimum wage rises 18 cents to $10.96.
That's about the same as Connecticut, where there's no increase in January. But the minimum wage there went up to $11 in October, and will jump again to $12 this coming September.
Trailing behind at $10.50 an hour is Rhode Island, where efforts to increase the wage fell short last summer.
New Hampshire's rate remains the lowest rate in the region. The Granite State follows the federal minimum wage, which has been locked at $7.25 for a decade. New Hampshire's legislature passed a bill to raise the wage to $10 an hour, but Governor Chris Sununu vetoed it in August.
Copyright 2019 New England Public Media