© 2021 Connecticut Public

FCC Public Inspection Files:
WPKT · WRLI-FM · WEDW-FM · Public Files Contact
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Arts & Culture

Celebrating New Music, Diversity at the 2014 Women Composers Festival of Hartford

Sylvanus Ensemble

Dissonant harmonies rattled the air of Hartford’s Charter Oak Cultural Center on Saturday evening as members of the Sylvanus Ensemble delivered a delightfully curated program of works by 20th- and 21st-century female composers. 

The performance was one of five concerts put on by the 2014 Women Composers Festival of Hartford to celebrate the diversity and vitality of women’s music.

Among the featured composers were Hilary Tann, Ruth Crawford-Seeger, Sookyung Sul, Andrea Clearfield, Marion Bauer, Debra Kaye, and Whitney George. Though seemingly disparate in their respective styles and influences, their grouping provided concert-goers with a well-rounded look at the multifarious and ever-evolving world of new music.

Click below to hear selections from the evening's program. 

Ruth Crawford-Seeger -- Diaphonic Suite No. 4 (Mvt. III) for Oboe and Cello:

Whitney George -- Watching the Dark Slowly Unfold for Oboe/English Horn, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Piano:

Related Content